April 2017 reviews

The Silent Waters (Elements #3) by Brittainy C. Cherry

https://i2.wp.com/images.gr-assets.com/books/1472832783l/29963453.jpg

DID NOT FINISH… 46%

2 STARS e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2

I’m going to be in the minority here… But this book bored me! Actually, I’m not a big fan of this series by Miss Cherry. The others didn’t do it for me either. This one caught my eye because of the awesome reviews everyone gave to it and also the premise looked well, promising. It was a real disapointment. The story was boring in a way that litteraly nothing happened! Apart from the traumatising accident of Maggie, the rest was not good to a point where I gave up finishing it.

I dislike the first chapters because the writing was childish. I know, I know, the point of view was written from 10 years old child but still. It had no point whatsover. I am a not a big fan of writting from a point of view of a child… I mean, it is suppose to be a new adult book, I personnally don’t want to read how a child is thinking, I went through that years ago. I know it’s suppose to show the building relationship of Maggie and Brooks… Didn’t work with me! At all!

Also, few things happen when they reach adolescence. I mean, their first kiss was so quick. No built-up, nothing! It’s just happen! Their first time, same thing! How frustrating is that!

The only redeeming thing of this book is Maggie and her love of books. She reads Harry Potter and what she says about it is so true! I relate so much!!

“A person never reads an outstanding book twice and walks away with the same beliefs. An outstanding book always surprises you and awakens you to new ideas, new ways of looking at the world, no matter how many times the words have been read.”

Her only friends in her life is her books and I get her. This is the only part that made me gave it stars. Also because the premise was promising, just not well executed…

Leave a Reply

