April 2017 reviews

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata

https://i0.wp.com/images.gr-assets.com/books/1456774327l/29367958.jpg

3.5 STARS e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2

This is my first book from Mariana Zapata. I’ve read through reviews that she is a very good writer that builds alot of her relationship. I usually I’m a fan of slow building relationships (who likes insta-love, it’s not believable at all!) and this one is a really LONG build-up. Maybe a bit too long. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the book and I read it in 1 and half sitting. But I wanted so bad to know what was going on because not much happened in this book… and this is why I only give it 3.5 stars.

Ths story centers around Vanessa who is a personnal assistant to Aidan, a professional and very good footballer. She suddendly quits to start her own carreer as a graphic designer and also because she hates, and hates her boss’s manager (as well because Aidan kind of gets on her nerves most of the time!). A few weeks after she quits, Aidan come see her to ask her to come back and also to ask her to marry him (he wants to have a citizenship to still play in the U.S.). And this is where the story begins.

https://i0.wp.com/paperluster.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/213/2016/04/Capture.png

“I don’t know,” I stuttered, “Do you love me?”
His gaze was so intent the entire world seemed to stop. “You tell me. I never stop thinking about you. I worry about you all the time. Every beautiful thing I see reminds me of you. I can’t finish my practices in Colorado with out wishing you were around,” he said in a steady tone. “You tell me what I feel.”

Mariana writes beautiffuly! Her writing entices people to read more and you get suck in the story really fast. She writes adults characters that think and talks like adults. I’m tired of reading new adult books, with characters who act like they are 15 years old, it’s too juvenile. This is not the case here. But I have to say, the story dragged on a bit too much. Of course, she gets to build the love of her characters, but still, nothing really happens. I kept reading not because the story was suspensful or because there was action or even romance. I kept reading because I was waiting for the love scenes (not sex, just kisses and stuff!) to happen and dear God, it happened at like 90% of the book!! There were some cute scenes between the characters before that but nothing to make swoon over it. I usually love long building relationship since they are more believable but this one was maybe a bit too long for my liking.

The characters were great! Vanessa was so funny!! I like strong women who are not afraid to say what they have to say. There were some times where I even laughed out loud. I also liked the fact that she wore glasses. Maybe it’s because I wear glasses myself and it’s pretty rare in books that the main character wear glasses all the time! Good little addition to the credibility of the character. There is no insta-love for her so she didn’t appear to be a stupid little girl like it happened to often in the past. Good character!

Aidan was… well he as something! At first I actually thought he was a jerk who could have been Asperger a little. He was a total loner, who didn’t talk to Vanessa and spent most of his time training and only that. He lived for his sport. There were even conversations where he seemed to not get Vanessa’s sarcasm that made me thought ‘Well maybe he is an Asperger or something’ but it was never mentionned so I finally came to a conclusion that he was maybe just a jerk. He warmed up through the book though! He was even really sweet to her at some points. He was a total alpha big muscle man but he didn’t have alot of personnality unlike Vanessa.

Overall, it was not a disapointing read for I enjoyed it a bit. But the non-action and the length it took for the characters to even acknowledge that there was something going on between them took the stars away. I might read other books by Miss Zapata since I really enjoyed her writing. If you don’t mind slow buidling relationship but with no angst whatsoever, this is the book for you. It’s not juvenile and you will enjoy Vanessa’s character of you like strong woman.

Enjoy guys!

Leave a Reply

