May 2017 reviews

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassandra Clare

Résultats de recherche d'images pour « Lord of shadows »

5 STARS e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2e9af3c7e956c49d6a13086854f5991a2

“I need to be whole again. Even if it doesn’t last.”
“It can’t last,” she said, staring at him, because how could it, when they could never keep what they had? “It’ll break our hearts.”
He caught her by the wrist, brought her hand to his bare chest. Splayed her fingers over his heart. It beat against her palm, like a fist punching its way through his sternum. “Break my heart,” he said. “Break it in pieces. I give you permission.”

And it’s finally here!! I was waiting for that book for so long!! A whole year! (LOL) Still, when it came out I told myself I would read it slowly so to not finish it too early and wait for the final book… That did not happen! I finished it in 4 days… And I was taking breaks to make it last longer. Anyway, I quite enjoyed that one but it was a little different then what I’d expected.

https://dateagirlwhoreadsblog.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/d25b0-15043507_620845688076681_9073250908246114304_n.jpg?w=663

“There is truth in stories,” said Arthur. “There is truth in one of your paintings, boy or in a sunset or a couplet from Homer. Fiction is truth, even if it is not a fact. If you believe only in facts and forget stories, your brain will live, but your heart will die.”

The story takes place two weeks after where Lady Midnight ended. We follow Emma, Julian, Cristina and Mark (as well as their siblings; Livvy, Ty, Dru and Octavian) as they take Kit Herondale under their wings as a new Shadowhunter. Just as they thought times would be more calm, there comes the students from the Schomolance (Diego’s friends and colleagues) for investigating what happened with Malcolm Fade and find his body. The Shadowhunters eventually find out that newcomers are suspicious and maybe there is more than meets the eye. And so they embark into another long adventure.

The story in itself was great but the middle lacked a little. The beginning of the book was enchanting. We were meeting with our beloved characters once more and I couldn’t wait to learn what has happened after the finale of Lady Midnight. The story started strong! Clearing what has happened in the last book and giving some answers as to some of the questions we may had. The middle part was… Okay I guess. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but a little long for some chapters. There were alot of different point of views in the book (Emma, Julian, Marl, Cristina, Kit, Ty, Diana… To name a few!) And I found myself wanting to skip paragraphs so I could get to the stories I cared more about… Some character’s arcs were not as enticing as some others… But then comes the ending and DEAR GOD what and ending!!! 0.0 I’m still in awe!

The new addition, Kit for instance, were great to follow and interesting. But the main problem with this book is the enormous amount of characters. The Mortal Intrusments had alot, but we followed their stories through the eyes of a few characters. The Dark Artifices does it differently and it can get quite long or even hard to follow. I was into the story of Emma and Julian (obviously) but not that much in the story of Ty…

Cassandra writes beautifully as always and I found myself lost in her intricate descriptions! She is amazing at writing fantastic land and describing fantastical creatures.

Overall, I loved this book!! The way she wrote the story can be compared to City of Ashes, so if you liked this one, you should like Lord of Shadows. (Also if you liked Lady Midnight, you will definetely like this one too!) The next one is scheduled to come out in TWO FREAKING YEARS!! That is way toooo long… I guess I’ll have to wait patiently… Which I’m not good at!

Résultats de recherche d'images pour « Waiting gif »

Enjoy guys

2 thoughts on “Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassandra Clare

  1. I actually really liked getting so many POVs because I thought it really added depth into the story. I always hate when they just mention what happened to someone else and in this book you actually got to go with them. Another reason I liked it was because the whole story revolves around family so being able to see from everyone in the family is a cool way to get to know each of them that much more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

